The Help – Kathryn Stockett Alegely helped herself to someone else’s story StUePsE!

The story of The Help that is theaters now is about to get real ugly. Apparently the story is based on an actual person, Abilene Cooper. Ms. Cooper worked  for    Kathryn Stockett’s brother and sister-in-law, where she has been a maid and nanny for 12 years.

Abilene says: ‘When I started to read the book, I said, ‘‘This is the closest thing to my life I ever seen. It’s gotta be me.’’

The bestselling novel The  is based on the lives of black servants in America’s Southern states of the Sixties, it is a sharply observed portrait of a racially charged, segregationist world that some might say has barely passed.

Ms. Cooper says ‘Kathryn spelt my name wrong, but they pronounce it exactly the same way in the book and the film. I introduced myself to Kathryn when I first met her at her brother’s house that way: ‘‘Aib-e-leen”.

Kathryn has Aibileen teaching the white folks’ baby girl to call her ‘‘Aib-ee”. That’s what I taught Kathryn’s niece and nephew to call me because they couldn’t manage Abilene.

I think Abileen is about to get paid. This sort of thing makes me just StUePsE!

Leave a Reply

  • Add this Content to Your Site
